Open-Ended

Lisa Simpson is right. What will my life be like after I descend into mediocrity after I stop taking Humanities Core, the reason this blog was started?

My seminar professor for my Humanities Core class wanted our last blog post to be a reflection on our year’s endeavors in learning (I think). This is also supposed to reflect our own growth in the way we think and the way we see the world (I think).

Going into Humcore, I was a bit intimidated. After all, it was my first ever college class. During the summer in our freshman orientation, they publicized and encouraged people to enroll in the course. Using pictures from the Roman empire and the course’s theme “The Empire and its Ruins,” it could not be more unappealing to me.

History classes and I have never seen eye to eye. However when I was encouraged by my academic advisor to take the class (and benefit from all of the general education requirements it covered), I figured I could manage. The reading load caught me off guard, but the class discussions were where I found myself at home.

My reflection after all this time spent here? This course has taught me more about myself than any history class I’ve taken, to say the least. I’ve learned what topics and issues I truly care about (e.g. race, my heritage and culture, and my country) and how hard it is to write about things that I don’t (e.g. a literary analysis of The Aeneid, visual analyses of artifacts that I do not connect with).

Sometimes, though, I have more freedom and can mold my papers and assignments into ones that actually gauge my interest.

 

Mead-Dismaland-800
Dismaland. Banksy. (The New Yorker).

I was able to use this work of Banksy during fall quarter to exhibit ruins and the deeper meanings behind them. Being a fan of Banksy’s work, working on this paper was never a struggle nor was it hard to complete.

But the most freedom we are given is through our blogs.

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed doing my posts on The American Mystique more than I have doing any other Humcore assignment this year. I’m thankful that my seminar professors have never put any restrictions onto our posts– that I was always free to talk about whatever I wanted so long as it related to the course in one way or another.

I’ve been able to pose questions and start conversations about things I really care about, like why American education chooses to keep its youth uniformed about sex or why people labeled Americans living in our country are not treated with the same privilege or social courtesy as other Americans.

Humcore has allowed me to explore and figure out my stance on such issues which is something I haven’t experienced ever in all my years of education. Never was I pressured to please my professor’s point of view; I learned that my views do matter so long as I back up my claims with logical warrants.

I’ve found out more about my own culture through a section of lectures focuses on the American annexation of the Philippines and became both enraged and saddened by the history of my mother’s homeland.

I’ve learned indeed that “the world is a cesspool of corruption” and “the whole damn system is wrong,” but also I’ve found out that I am oblivious to much of what goes on in the world. I would have never known about the Cambodian genocide or the lack of historic documentation of the Incan empire or how people were fascinated with the destruction of buildings in. Of course, it’s not my duty to be informed of everything but acknowledge that I don’t know everything. Whether or not I find it of importance to be informed is completely up to me, and you can guess how I feel about that if you’ve followed me for this long.

Above all, I’d like to think I will continue questioning and theorizing the American mystique. My future posts will not be a frequent, but they will be more hearty considering I won’t be completing them for a grade. I look forward to seeing what else is in store for this site. This isn’t to be taken as a “last post” but rather an “open–ended ending.” I will hopefully be back sometime soon. Thank you for following me this far.

 

Leave a Reply

